Visit to the Flower Dome – Cherry Blossoms

My family and I are not really the nature sort. So, my neighbours were surprised when I became a Friend of Gardens By The Bay (Family). I’m surprised too 🙂 But it’s precisely because we are not, I wanted to give it a try, especially when there was a special promotion during the SG50 weekend in August 2015: 50% off the one-year membership.

Friends of the gardens family card

So, for a family of 2 adults/seniors and up to 3 children (3-12 yrs old), instead of S$180, I only paid S$90!!! And we had the option to start the one-year latest by end of December 2015, we did on 2nd Dec. Even if we only visit once, it’s already worth it. But of course we shall go at least 4 times – Christmas, Cherry Blossoms, Tulips and one other.

My husband agreed to buy this membership because Flower Dome and Cloud Forest are air-conditioned :).

Come to think of it, it’s still worth it to get a one-year membership at the normal price once in your life for families like mine (2 adults 3 kids), especially if you own a car.

Friends of the gardens family card photo

The kids were wearing their swimming costume because we were going to the Water Play at the Children’s Garden which has free admission

Privileges:

  • Free 2-hour parking daily
  • Unlimited entries to the Flower Dome, Cloud Forest and OCBC Skyway
  • Some merchant discounts

We should be visiting the Flower Dome again soon before Tulipmania comes to an end on 22nd May 2016. More info at http://www.gardensbythebay.com.sg/en/whats-on/calendar-of-events/2016-tulipmania.html

22nd March 2016

I was thrilled to know we could see cherry blossoms before the Blossom Beats come to an end on 27th March. We missed most of it since we were in Hong Kong from 14th – 20th March. Of course I don’t foresee going to Japan anytime soon to see them…. So, this is the next best alternative. 🙂

Cherry Blossoms 23

Enjoying God’s creation and food in community

“For the Japanese, who appreciate beauty, purity, and simplicity, the cherry blossom remains a symbol for the transient nature of life, for a life that is beautiful but also impermanent.”

Quoted from http://uwf.edu/bookclub/cherrytrees.html

Photos by me using my iPhone6 Plus.

Urm.. I’m not a pro… But hope you enjoy the photos nonetheless. See how each kind is unique and beautiful in their own way. Imagine, there are over 600 kinds of cherry trees alone. This is part of the more than 400,000 different kinds of flowers in the world!

Cherry Blossoms 29

Cherry Blossoms 26

Cherry Blossoms 15

Why are two different colours here together? Pretty!

Cherry Blossoms 14

Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be.
    Remind me that my days are numbered— how fleeting my life is.
You have made my life no longer than the width of my hand.
    My entire lifetime is just a moment to you; at best, each of us is but a breath.”

We are merely moving shadows, and all our busy rushing ends in nothing.
We heap up wealth, not knowing who will spend it.

Psalm 39: 4-6 (NLT) by David, about  in year 1000BC

Have you been busy rushing through life? Working day and after day? Doing the same routine again and again? Or watching drama (“guilty”) and surfing the internet all day?

Is there meaning to all these? Time passes by before you know it. So how shall we live our lives? Does it matter how we live our lives now?

Well, David gave us his answer:

And so, Lord, where do I put my hope?
    My only hope is in you. 

Psalm 39:7 (NLT)

David’s only hope is found in God, our Creator. And we can learn more about what he means in God’s Word, the Bible.

What about you? Where do you put your hope?

Cherry Blossoms 13

Cherry Blossoms 18

Cherry Blossoms 16

Cherry Blossoms 3

Cherry Blossoms 28

Cherry Blossoms 27

Cherry Blossoms 25

The cheeky boy with many funny faces…

Cherry Blossoms 20

Cherry Blossoms 30

Cherry Blossoms 24

Photos by my husband on Panasonic GH3

Flower Dometzun (9)Flower Dometzun (5)

Flower Dometzun (4)

Our days on earth are like grass; like wildflowers, we bloom and die.
The wind blows, and we are gone— as though we had never been here.
But the love of the Lord remains forever with those who fear Him.
His salvation extends to the children’s children of those who are faithful to His covenant, of those who obey His commandments!

Psalm 103: 15-18 (NLT)

Flower Dometzun (12)

Wood (or is it root?) carving of monkeys helping each other in community

Flower Dometzun (8)

Flower Dometzun

Flower Dometzun (1)

Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

